//
you're reading...
Yoga

Baddha Padmasana

I have not fully made up my mind whether or not I like my current corporate job. I like the excitement of completing a project and can hardly stand some things, but there is a part of my that certainly hates it all: my back!

I do yoga and do never miss an opportunity to get in a pool for a swim but at the end of an average office day it feels stiff. Yesterday in class I was surprised with the Baddha Padmasana (Bound Lotus pose) for 2 reasons: I easily got into it! A while ago, I could not get my upper hand to grab my toe, but yesterday it was not a challenge! And I easily touched the floor with my head. I was very well warmed up, but I can’t help some bragging :)! Most importantly, it felt so nice in the body (my back in particular) AND mind, easy and peaceful that I did not want to go out from it! As much as it is hard for me to slip into meditation mode, this pose felt so peaceful and right that I felt I could easily meditate in it!

After doing some research, I found out that the Bound Lotus Kriya is widely used in Kundalini Yoga and I was very interested in this meditation. 31 minutes sounds A LOT, but I am definitely trying 5 minutes tonight and we’ll see where this journey takes me.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Baddha Padmasana

  1. I self-taught myself some yoga poses, but how I wish i can take classes! πŸ˜€ Any pointers to free yoga classes in NYC? πŸ˜‰ lol I cant afford all the pricy studios out there. 😦

    Posted by Elyas Mulu Kiros | January 27, 2012, 10:01 pm
    • Sorry I have no idea. I live in Bangkok now, so it’s not worth the commute :). But I remember an article in the Yoga Journal like a year ago, where the author explored free yoga options in the NYC. And there were a lot of them! Try to google and check out some local web sites, blogs and stuff. I’ll throw you a few links once I get to my laptop.

      Posted by yellowmat | January 28, 2012, 1:09 am
  2. If not free at least reasonable prices? πŸ™‚

    Posted by Elyas Mulu Kiros | January 27, 2012, 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Yellow Yoga Mat???

Yellow is color of sun, light, classic Margaritas and summery nail polish. Yoga mat, besides being number one yoga prop, is a place to do something you love and have a luxury of staying in the moment; personal space and loving what you do... now.

Me

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

